At last!… >:)

Hey guys! These were truly some days when evil was hovering over me!… or at least, so I thought!

I’ve been trying since last Saturday to deploy a Win CE application I’ve written in C# for a new embedded board I’ve received from Microsoft as a prize, but I kept getting this annoying errors, like “the Compact version used is too old” or “the application is already running” (and of course, it wasn’t running) and so on.

Since I’ve got that first error, I believed that there was a problem with the WinCE image I’ve built. So, just to be 100% sure that the problem was the image (which I admit, didn’t find to have build-logic problems), I’ve tried deploying the image on another older board, with another image of course, also on an x86 architecture, an image that I knew was perfectly capable of running anything I had in mind.

But what about this? I plug in the cross-over cable, boot the image, run Coreman for deploying the app I’ve written and boom: “Deployment and/or registration failed with error: 0x8973190e. Error writing file ‘\Windows\System_SR_enu.cab’. Error 0x8007274c: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.” I try the Coreman again, run the debug again, and then I get “the process is already running bla-bla-bla”.

So what to do next? Well, first I was thinking of writing an e-mail for support, but whom to write to? And what to write? Writing an e-mail with “nothing works” as subject, and the posted error in the body of the e-mail would have probably been ignored… And then it came to me: what if the network board is broken (to be read as f***** up”)?

A short history lesson: back in December I had to buy a new network board for my laptop because I’ve accidentally broken a pin of the original on-board Intel gigabit network board. And since it isn’t possible to change the on-board network module, I’ve decided to buy the best PCMCIA network board on the market: the D-Link DGE-660TD Gigabit board.

Enough with the history lesson. So here I am, unplugging my D-Link network board. I dock the laptop in the Lenovo docking station, plug the cable into the docking station network socket, change the IP addresses as required, start Coreman all over again, press deploy and taa-daam: deploy succeeded.

Don’t know if any of you ever had similar problems, but googling any of the errors I’ve got during these last 4 days I had absolutely didn’t help at all, so…

Ok, that’s it for today!

Alex

Leave a Reply

